40 Bags/40 Days Challenge

I haven’t observed Lent really in many years. It’s such a downer really. And I always feel like, why give something up, when you can do something good, that benefits others. Although I do not underestimate giving up and sacrificing either, as a way of remembrance, penance etc.

Anyway, this is one of the things I am going to do to observe this year:  I am committing to riding my home of 40 bags of “stuff” during the 40 days of Lent.

Either going to throw away, recycle or donate—garbage, clothing, toys, books, things we never use, things I really don’t need (looking at you million of kitchen gagets) etc. 

I am going room by room. I have started in the toy room. Where I have a strange sentimental attachment to all the toys, even dollar store ones.  I am trying to solicite my daughter’s help, because I don’t want her to end up with my semi-hording personality (she shows definite signs though, telling me about each and every toy and who gave it to her and why she loves it) It will be a good lesson for both of us to give with joy.

I hate organizing  and cleaning and  “letting go” of stuff is really uncomfortable and big challenge for me. So I figured it’s a good way to observe Lent. It encompasses both “sacrifice” and “doing good.” And I kind of like the idea of it.

This has been something I want to do also, as listed on “my preparation list” as a way to prepare my home for a future HG pregnancy. So lots of birds, one stone.  Efficient, just the way I like things.

Dr. Appointment today, for tons of blood work to see if there is an obvious cause of the HG.  H.Pylori, Addisons, etc. I’ll update and post with results.

UPDATE: I HEART THE DOCTOR (even though he probably thinks I’m a hypocondriact, he appeased me and ordered all the blood work, and validated me. He kept saying how horrible what I went through, etc.  and all I said was I get very sick in pregnancy and require multiple ivs and hydration therapy, and I want to see if there is an obvious cause. and it didn’t hurt that he was easy on the eyes)

This entry was posted in Preparation For Pregnancy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40 Bags/40 Days Challenge

  1. Claudine says:

    great idea! I might theft it as we prepare for a move…. maybe

  2. Ashli says:

    Love it when they’re easy on the eyes!

Leave a Reply

