Matthew 6:19-34

I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labour or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendour was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we drink?” or “What shall we wear?” For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Sunday’s scripture reading. I like it. I think it is will be a good motivator during dark HG hours.  I’ve printed it, and have now added a “scripture/motivation” Tab to my HG bible Binder.

I am praying to determine how/if we are to add another baby to our family. I am so torn. I do feel like adoption is calling me. And I think right now the costs are standing in my way, but perhaps this passage also calls to trust that it will be provided for.

This entry was posted in Preparation For Pregnancy, spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Matthew 6:19-34

  1. Wow, this is a beautiful passage which speaks deeply about the spiritual concept of living in the moment: Being present in the here and now. This means not focusing on the past and not worrying about the future. This is a Christian passage, but it is also fundamentally very Buddhist and Hindu too. All we ever truly have is this very moment and this very moment is the place to dwell. This body is rented, and we may be asked to leave at any time. When we go, we will take nothing of this material world with us. Most of what people strive for in this world are delusions which are chased after to satisfy and please the desires of the senses. Instead, the thing to strive for is expanded awareness of spirit and union in spiritual Source. I do think it is a useful passage for HG too and can be looked at several ways:

    1) Surrendering the body completely and trusting God. If you have another HG experience this passage will help you let go of all the things that need to be done: House work, professional work, financial worries, normal routines……everything. You will be able to trust that you will get the help you need and it will all be done. Of course, the suffering part is not easy with HG. But we can either surrender and go with the process, or we can resist and reject the process. Surrendering is easier if you want to complete the pregnancy. With HG, we have to even accept the possibility of damage / demise to the health of our body and extreme compromise of our emotional well-being. But if we are willing to completely let go of feeling good and just allow, I think it would be helpful for the entire span of an hg pregnancy. Rather than judge or reject the horrible experience….. just go with wherever it takes you. This doesn’t mean you will feel any better. It only means you will be going with the flow of the suffering and allowing it to be what it is, without judging it.

    2) Letting go of the past and letting go of today’s desire to pursue anything: Just be here now and enjoy today. Trust the natural flow of the universe. You don’t have to even pursue another HG pregnancy. Just continue to pray and follow where your heart leads you. If it leads you to adoption, that is beautiful too. If it leads you away from the HG experience, then know that you are following what is in the best interest of your highest good. We don’t have to suffer. It isn’t required. But if HG strikes and we do suffer, it is perfectly ok to let go of any notions that we need to “feel good” or get anything done. Just surrender the body to the suffering, and allow the process to happen (while getting good, proper medical attention, of course). But the main thing either way is to let go and trust……

    Hope my words make sense!

  2. Ashli says:

    “But seek first His kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”
    First and foremost, this is about God (and therefore the Holy Spirit and Jesus Christ). And then it is about us. God’s math: When I put myself first I come in last. When I put myself last I come in first. When I hold onto my life I lose it. When I lose my life I find it.
    Jesus
    Others
    Yourself
    It’s all in the acronym.

  3. BeckyT says:

    That’s the verse my daughter Anna’s middle name (Lily) came from. She was my third HG pregnancy 😦

  4. Diana says:

    This entry is going in my HG binder too! Thank you for posting!

Leave a Reply

