Know What’s Awesome?

Having Kidney Stones. In fact, I have several of them, I can loan out a few, but I would have to charge you for them, because there a rare commodity, especially in someone who is 28. It is like I hit the kidney stone jackpot. If it is rare, let me tell you, I will get it.  If only 5% of people or people in an age group will get something, I promise it will be me.  I actually bought a lotto ticket today, because I figure I am so good at the odds. But it seems this luck only really works towards rare illnesses and conditions, not money. That doesn’t really seem fair.

So yes, I have several Kidney stones in both kidneys.  The one that is giving me pain is lodge in my ureter and is causing a partial blockage.  I told you A-W-E-S-O-M-E! The good news is, that is the source of my mystery pain, and not my bright idea to take a laxative or something more serious. And so far, knock on wood, the pain of this one is nothing near the pain of the one three years ago after my pregnancy. The bad news is, they most likely will need to surgically remove it. I need it done sort of asap, because my insurance runs out at the end of the month-ala being terminated at work, and my dr. is going on vacation. (most likely surgery is happening Monday).

So while I would like to see if it passes on its own, because I am afraid of being put under, I don’t have the luxury of time. They are going to try the laser/sound waves thing first, so it is less invasive. Oh and talk about bedside manner, the Dr. says, “you’re not pregnant right,  because this is going to be like being punched in the back 30,000 times and it would kill the fetus.”

Thanks for the visual doc.  And no I am not pregnant.

After this, I am going to have to try and figure out why I am getting kidney stones, I figured the first one was from the HG, but why all the new ones? I doubt it is related. First things first though, remove the trouble, then get to the bottom of the cause.

Know what is really awesome though, I made the most beautiful banana bread tonight, and I am eating it, because to hell with the diet 🙂

And yes, I cooked banana bread while I have kidney stones, because nothing slows me down.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Know What’s Awesome?

  1. Diana says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the kidney stones! Hurray for diagnosis, though – and for healing soon!! I’ll be praying for your surgery to go well! (And hurray for banana bread – I cannot WAIT until I can eat carbs again, it is driving me batty! 🙂 Hopefully this is IT for you in terms of rare conditions!

    • sophia says:

      Dont forget that when you were a baby, you had a tick bite and we were no where near animals or a park and the doctor said that is where it had to happen. Another mystery. I am proud of my strong girl, I am right there for you always. I love you so much. Yr Mom

  2. Ashli says:

    “to hell with the diet!” AMEN, SISTA!

Leave a Reply

